top of page
  • Writer's pictureAshton <3

Visual or Wordy?



I have been asked several times about how I choose my books.


"When in Doubt, she goes to the Library!" - Ronald Weasley (Harry Potter and Half-Blood Prince) p. 255


I think everyone has their own way of choosing books & I honestly think it closely ties with how someone learns. I am a visual learning. I am also very hands on. Therefore, I tend to gravity towards books with pretty covers or books that someone else recommends to me.


I know that some people learn better through hearing things and those kinds of people read/choose books based upon word of mouth recommendations from other people. Whereas, someone else might be a researcher and reader, and will research books and read their synopsis or covers before choosing them. It's all about preference!


However, like I said I am more of a visual learner and therefore, tend to choose books for myself based upon how their covers look. I like to be aesthetically pleased.


Aesthetically pleasing for me could also mean something completely different for someone else. For myself, I like Bold and Bright colors, a picturesque place on the cover or a bright catching title. The picture on the front is normally the first thing that brings me into the book.


After choosing a "pretty cover," I will then read the inside cover to see more about the book. I love all kinds of different type of books so it normally just comes down to if it's something that interests me.


I also have an author obsession and series obsession. If I liked certain books by a certain author I am more than likely to check out more books by that author. Same goes for a series. If I am reading a series, I ALWAYS FINISH THE SERIES. Even if I hated the latest book. I finish it until it's done. Like what if the author was having a bad month or something. lol


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page